• Decrease
  • Increase

Sailing Events




Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta 2017


The biennial regatta in 2015 was hailed an enormous success both afloat and ashore for a combined fleet of 415 boats, the biggest on the Irish Sea. Over 250 races on five different courses were staged in a range of light to very heavy conditions since racing began.

George Sisk’s Farr 42 WOW from the Royal Irish Yacht Club was named top boat after winning three of four challenging IRC coastal races in a 25–boat offshore fleet.

Find out more about the 2017 event here


The Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race 2017

Thursday 9th July 2015, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin: on the opening day of the Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta where a fleet of 409 boats are competing. Photograph: © David Branigan/Oceansport

The Course

 The starting line is traditionally laid in Scotsman’s Bay, East of Dun Laoghaire Harbour.

 The course of the race is defined as: “leaving to starboard Ireland and all its islands and rocks showing permanently

above high water and situated on the landward side of the line joining the seaward extremities of:

(i) Muglins

(ii) Wicklow Head

(iii) Tuskar Rock

(iv) Barrels Light Buoy

(v) Bore Rocks Buoy

(vi) Coningbeg Lanby

(vii) Red Bank Buoy

(viii) Old Head of Kinsale

(ix) Fastnet Rock

(x) Mizen Head

(xi) Gull Rock (off Bull Rock) and (xii) Washerwoman Rock (off Great Skellig) 

and thence to the finishing line at the entrance to Dingle Harbour


Find out more here




Irish RS Feva Nationals 2017

at the Royal St George Yacht Club











© 2016 Dún Laoghaire Harbour Company
Powered By DynamiX